The purpose of the Commitment to Community Awards is to recognize and honor significant accomplishments of individuals, organizations, and businesses who value individuals with disabilities as important contributors to their communities. This event applauds the commitment of our honorees and provides visibility and recognition for their leadership and vision.

2015 Awards were presented at the luncheon banquet during the Idaho Partnerships Conference for Human Services on Friday, October 9th at The Riverside Hotel in Boise by Katherine Hansen, President and CEO of Community Partnerships of Idaho. Marilyn Sword, consultant with Frontier Group, was our Master of Ceremonies.

Darbi Bragg, 2015 Building Bridges Award recipient

BuildingBridgesGraphic2014_colorBuilding Bridges Award

The Building Bridges award recognizes an individual, organization, or business that understands the value of inclusiveness in a community and works to enhance the individual perspectives and contributions of all community members.

2015 Building Bridges Award recipient:  Darbi Bragg. She is a former Miss Rexburg and active community volunteer, raising awareness and promoting inclusion for people with disabilities. 

Randy Geile Opening doors award recipient 2015 photo

Opening Doors AwardOpeningDoorsGraphic2014_color

The Opening Doors award recognizes an individual, organization or business who has been instrumental in increasing opportunities for individuals with disabilities to access their community.

2015 Opening Doors Award recipient: Randy Geile. Randy is a retired engineer who has quietly put his knowledge and skills to work opening doors to people with disabilities by designing and developing low cost access equipment made from common materials. Most of his designs are multipurpose and customizable and all are offered at no cost. 

Scott Hoover, 2015 Plays Well with Others Award recipient

Plays Well With Others Award

The Plays Well with Others award honors an individual, organization or business that has shown outstanding leadership by bringing together community partners to enhance the lives of individuals with disabilities.

2015 Plays Well with Others Award recipient: Scott Hoover. Scott is a community connector. As the Community Work Incentives Coordinator at Disability Rights Idaho, Scott has shared his extensive knowledge of work incentives, other Social Security programs, Department of Labor programs, Medicare and Medicaid with organizations and individuals across the state.

Kathie Garrett, Lifetime Achievement award recipient 2015 photo

LifetimeLifetimeAchievementGraphic2014_color-cropped Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement award honors a single individual nearing the end of their career or retired for his or her lifetime contribution to enriching the lives of individuals with disabilities. The recipient of this award embraces the values of inclusion, collaboration and advocacy.

2015 Lifetime Achievement Award recipient: Kathie Garrett.  Kathie served as an Idaho State Representative for three terms, where she could be counted on to be an outspoken advocate regarding services to people with disabilities and mental illness. After she left the legislature, she fought hard for a suicide prevention hotline for Idaho and served as a Governor’s appointee on the State Planning Council on Mental Health. She is currently an officer in Idaho National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) and President of the Board of the Idaho Federation of Families for Children’s Mental Health. Kathie has done much to expand awareness and services for those with all disabilities in Idaho, from working on the expansion of the Medicaid ‘Close the Gap’ group to solidly backing the creation of regional behavioral health crisis centers. She is the primary reason we do not see license plates in Idaho that have the word “Maniac” on them. Her efforts on behalf of people with disabilities is immeasurable.